Match 23, RR vs DC – Rajasthan’s losing streaks, Rabada’s record-breaking match and more stats

Here are all the statistical highlights from Delhi Capitals’ 46-run victory in RR vs DC.

Delhi Capitals
Delhi Capitals. (Photo Source: IPL/BCCI)

Delhi Capitals surged back to the top of the points table following a huge 46-run win over the Rajasthan Royals on Friday. On a rare slower track in Sharjah, the Delhi team struggled to post a 200-run total. But contributions from their overseas duo of Stoinis and Hetmyer helped them to finish with a decent 184/8. The total became a mountain for the Royals once Ravi Ashwin got the better of Jos Buttler in his first over. Ashwin’s economical spell of 2/22 didn’t let Royals score quickly in the first half who crumbled in the second half and got bowled out for only 138.

Here are all the statistical highlights from Delhi Capitals’ 46-run victory in RR vs DC:

Rajasthan’s losing streaks:

4Delhi Capitals now have defeated the Rajasthan Royals in four consecutive meetings in the IPL. Before this streak, the Royals won six successive IPL games against the Delhi franchise. This is also the first time Delhi team defeated RR in four consecutive IPL matches.

2012 – The last IPL season where Rajasthan Royals lost four consecutive matches was during the 2012 edition. Royals lost to CSK, RCB, DD and DD in a succession in 2012 after winning four of their first six matches.

A rare match award for Ashwin:

3 – The RR vs DC is the 3rd match where Ravichandran Ashwin received the player of the match award in the IPL. His first came in 2010 during the home game for CSK against KKR where he took 3/16.

Ashwin’s second and the previous award came during KXIP’s home game against RR in 2019; nine years after his first award. Ashwin scored 17* in only four deliveries and took 2/24 in that fixture. Ashwin’s bowling analyses during the RR vs DC in Sharjah on Friday read 4-0-22-2.

Also Read

Rabada’s record-breaking match:

46 – Kagiso Rabada now has claimed 46 wickets in the IPL; all of them for the Delhi Daredevils/Capitals. These are now the most wickets in the IPL by an overseas player and also the most by a pacer for the Delhi franchise surpassing Morne Morkel’s 45 scalps. In overall, Rabada’s 46 wickets are only behind Amit Mishra’s tally of 100 wickets of the Delhi franchise in the IPL.

20 – Rabada now has picked up at least one wicket in 20 successive matches in the IPL; the longest wicket-taking spree in terms of matches for any bowler in the IPL. The South African broke the record held by Vinay Kumar with 19 games in a succession with a wicket. In terms of innings, Dwayne Bravo leads the list with 27 consecutive IPL inning with a wicket.

Stoinis-Hetmyer’s six-hitting spree:

3 – Marcus Stoinis and Shimron Hetmyer recorded only the 3rd instance in the IPL of two players hitting four or more sixes without reaching 50 in the same innings. Stoinis hit four sixes during his 39 while Hetmyer struck five sixes in his 24-ball 45 during RR vs DC.

Pant-Rabada continues to fetch wickets for Delhi:

16 – Rishabh Pant and Kagiso Rabada now have together involved in 16 IPL dismissals thus far. In the terms of catches, the pair is now on the top alongside Kieron Pollard and Harbhajan Singh duo who also accounted for 16 wickets but as an outfielder-bowler pair. Dwayne Bravo is next on the list as MS Dhoni and Suresh Raina claimed 15 catches apiece in Bravo’s bowling during the IPL.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *